Tasmanian Liquor and Gaming Commission Members

Ms Jenny Cranston (Chair)
Ms Jenny Cranston was appointed Chair of the Tasmanian Liquor and Gaming Commission on 14 March 2016. Jenny was previously the Chair of the Liquor Licensing Board from August 2012 until its amalgamation with the Gaming Commission in August 2015.

Jenny has held a number of senior appointments in Government agencies in Tasmania and Queensland and has worked across a variety of portfolios, including the regulation of the vocational education and training system in Queensland. Jenny has also undertaken consultancy work for government agencies and not-for-profit organisations here and in New South Wales.

Jenny brings to the Commission an understanding of how policy and legislation are developed and enacted as well as experience in managing and administering regulatory frameworks. Her previous roles have also developed a strong people focussed practice and a belief in the power of individuals to build community capacity.

Mr Stuart Barry

Stuart Barry owns a Tasmanian based financial advisory firm and has extensive experience in the finance industry, having worked in the global investment markets in both Asia and Australia for the past 27 years. His previous senior management roles include head of both Japan and Korean country operations for ING investments. In addition to his investment knowledge, he also has expertise in regulatory compliance, corporate governance and strategic planning. Stuart has a particular interest in the Commission's role in developing and implementing harm minimisation initiatives.

Ms Leanne Topfer
Leanne is a partner at the law firm of McLean, McKenzie & Topfer in Burnie and has practised in the city since settling there in 1986. She was President of the Law Society of Tasmania in 2006 and was a member of the Council of the Law Society of Tasmania from 2001 to 2012 and an Executive Member of the Law Council of Australia from 2010 to 2014. Leanne is also a member of the Guardianship and Administration Tribunal and the University of Tasmania Council.

Back Home