Parliament Square Project


The Government has divested the parliament square site, which consisted of nine buildings, (10 Murray Street, 12 Murray Street, 34 Davey Street, 34 West Davey Street, the Red Brick Building, 36 Davey Street, 2 4 Salamanca Place, 6 Salamanca Place and part of the Parliamentary Annex). The sale of the site was subject to the Crown Lands Act 1976.

During 2008 and 2009, a three stage tender process was undertaken by Treasury to divest the site, with the preferred developer, the Citta Property Group Pty Ltd (Citta), appointed in August 2009.

A sales contract with Citta was negotiated that includes conditions to ensure the Government's long term interest in the site is protected.

The project has been through extensive processes from its inception, including all proper planning processes, full consultation and pre-work with planning authorities, key stakeholders and the broader community. The project commenced with broad based public consultation, resulting in the development of a project vision, objectives and design principles to guide the redevelopment.

Current status

For current status updates, please contact the Developers website located at:

Planning Permit Amendments

 The Parliament Square Planning Permit Act 2012 received Royal Assent on 6 December 2012. The Act validates the second planning permit (PLN-10-00495-01) that had been issued by the former planning authority for the redevelopment​, the Sullivans Cove Waterfront Authority. The PSPPA was amended to allow further permits to be issued.

For the purposes of section 56 of the Land Use Planning and Approvals Act 1993, in relation to the planning permit, the Minister -

(a) is taken to be the planning authority; and
(b) may exercise the powers of a planning authority under that section.

The Minister approved minor amendments requested by the Citta Property Group Pty Ltd on:





parliament square Project Team
Department of Treasury and Finance
GPO Box 147
Hobart TAS 7001
Phone: 03 6166 4215

Back Home