The Superannuation Commission

The Superannuation Commission is the Trustee of the Retirement Benefits Fund (RBF) and oversees the administration of the RBF defined benefit schemes.

Two members of the Commission must be present to form a quorum at a duly convened meeting. Decisions of the Commission must be supported by a majority of the members present and voting. If there is an equality of votes, the person presiding has a casting vote. Full and accurate minutes of proceedings are kept for all Commission meetings.

Commission members as at 1 October 2019

​Evelyn Horton B.Ec, M.Soc. Sci (Econs), FAICD

Chair of the Superannuation Commission

Commission tenure:

Chair since 1 October 2019

Experience and expertise

Evelyn is a full-time company director with expertise in financial services, governance and risk management.

Evelyn is a former economic policy adviser, having worked at the Commonwealth Treasury for over a decade.  She was in investment banking for 15 years, starting in mergers and acquisitions before taking on a succession of senior roles in risk management at a large Australian investment bank.

Evelyn sits on the boards of the Tasmanian Public Finance Corporation, the Motor Accidents Insurance Board, Centuria Life Limited/Over Fifty Guardian Friendly Society, Mission Australia and the Glebe Administration Board.  She is a member of the SMART Infrastructure Facility at the University of Wollongong and of the Diocesan Financial Advisory Task Force of the Anglican Church.



Leigh Mackey BA LLB

Commission tenure:

Commissioner since 1 April 2017

Experience and expertise

Leigh is a partner of Ogilvie Jennings and has been practicing since 1992 when she was admitted to the Supreme Court of Tasmania and the High Court of Australia. Leigh specialises in injuries and compensation litigation. Leigh was a member of the RBF Board from 12 October 2015 to 31 March 2017.

Leigh is chair of the Tasmanian Air Rescue Trust, a community member of the Tasmanian Board of the Australian Medical Board, Chair of the Parole Board, a member of the Tasmania Police Review Board, sits on the Legal Profession and Anti-Discrimination Tribunals and is a lecturer in workers compensation at the Legal Practice Course.​


Chris Bevan MAICD

Commission tenure:

Commissioner since 1 April 2017

​Experience and expertise

Chris Bevan started in the public sector in 1972 as a junior staff member within the Public Works Department. Chris then transferred to Forestry Tasmania in 1981 where he worked across the state in a range of positions (including Paymaster and Industrial Relations Advisor) until 2002 when he commenced his retirement.

Chris has been Chairman of the Workskills Board since 2005 and is the current President of the Tasmanian Association of State Superannuants (TASS).


Back Home